Don’t Be Ignorant On Gay Marriage, Alabama

Alabama’s Gay Marriage Ban was recently ruled unconstitutional by a federal judge. There will be a blizzard of appeals, debate, and people on both sides of the issue embarrassing themselves. But that is not the point of this post.

I have an issue with people comparing the discrimination of homosexuals today to the discrimination of blacks in the 60’s. I’m not speaking on comparisons to interracial marriage, but to the nationwide hate that faced African Americans from this period.
Regardless of how you feel about gay marriage or even homosexuality as a whole, it is absolutely ignorant to compare the two.

True, I could see where homosexuals have been denied something because of their sexuality: a job, promotion, adoption, or any of the many things that never reach headlines. I see that. I can sympathize with that argument to a reasonable extent.

But that pales in comparison to the atrocities faced by the Civil Rights Movement.
To even suggest that homosexuals’ issues are equitable to that of African Americans facing discrimination in pre-Civil Rights Act America is absurd. Even after the Civil Rights Act of 1964 was passed, violence continued on for years.

King
Especially those in Alabama, you should know better. Our state was the battleground for Civil Rights. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. wrote a famous letter from a Birmingham Jail. The Montgomery Bus Boycott started by Rosa Parks took place in our state’s capitol. Martin Luther King also led a massive march from Selma to Birmingham. We have memorials everywhere,19551201_Rosa_Parks_Mug_Shot reminding us of the past. We are bombarded with it in History class. Our classmates, coworkers, and churches have family that lived it. How could we have forgotten?

Honestly, the comparison angers me. I’m always shocked whenever I hear this argument. Homosexuals have experienced prejudice, no doubt.
Homosexuals have not faced systematic oppression and outright hate like African Americans did in the 60’s.

There are no gay water fountains.

Men Drinking from Segregated Water Fountains

There no restaurants that only serve straights.

8a17588u-master-1000

There are no signs placing gays below dogs.

cr0024_enlarge

There are no police officers beating gays for having a different opinion.

Rev.-WEB-VOL-1-030

There are no German Shepherds attacking gays at peaceful protests.

1111_civil-rights

There are no fire hoses unleashing 290 pounds per square inch of water on gays.

22235_h500w820gt

There are no crosses being burned the yards of gay houses.

mlkjr

And most importantly, there are no lynchings of gays.

I won’t post pictures here, but all you have to do is Google “Black Lynchings” to see these travesties. In many of the earlier pictures (not necessarily 1960’s) you will see children gathered around watching this murder, because it was commonplace.
Blacks were drug behind trucks, torn between horses, lit on fire and hanged regularly. There were churches and schools being bombed. In fact, Birmingham had the nickname of “Bombingham”. The hate led to white civil rights workers being murdered as well.

Violence ran rampant in the Deep South especially, but discrimination and segregation was everywhere. Hundreds of years of tensions were reaching a boiling point. I pray our country never sees discrimination on such a scale ever again.

Iamaman.previewThis was one of the lowest points in the history of the United States. There was so much wrong being perpetrated on a daily basis. Jim Crow Laws and the Ku Klux Klan separated blacks and presented them as subhuman. Black life was far from sacred, it was often despised.

Don’t get me wrong, I do not think every person that is for gay marriage compares the two. I actually think it is a relative minority, but they are a loud minority. It only takes one person to made this ignorant statement. I also don’t want you to think I’m minimizing the battles homosexuals are facing. I am not. Homosexuals often face hate rather than understanding. I understand their resentment and feelings of discrimination. I honestly do. But.

It amazes me that people can think these two situations are comparable. They most definitely are not. Conversations on gay marriage should happen. Comparisons to the Civil Rights Era should not.

What are your thoughts? Have you heard anyone use this comparison before?

4 thoughts on “Don’t Be Ignorant On Gay Marriage, Alabama

  1. Chuck Akers January 27, 2015 / 2:07 am

    I agree that no one should compare the struggle between blacks and gays. There is no way they compare. But don’t brush the gay struggle under the rug, hate crimes against gays is up. Mississippi just past a law where any business can refuse service, and Matthew Shepard was left for dead tied to a fence.
    Again let me be clear, our struggles don’t hold a candle to those of African American struggles in our country, but we have to let be known that we too will not be left behind or out rights.

    Great article!!!
    Thank you for your time.

    Liked by 1 person

    • josiahjjr January 27, 2015 / 12:12 pm

      Thanks for reading Chuck!
      It was never my intention to sweep the gay struggle under rug. I know there are problems and prejudices faced by gays everywhere that the vast majority of people never know about. I am very sorry if it seemed like I was minimizing that.

      Thank you for understanding the gist of the article. That was my point!

      Thanks again for reading and commenting. I appreciate hearing your thoughts, Chuck!

      Like

  2. freddielynn January 29, 2015 / 10:55 am

    I agree completely. I understand that the homosexual community feels alienated and rejected, hurt and discriminated against, but you are right that it pales in comparison to the black community. I don’t think America will let it get that bad again, and I would hope it never would with or without laws, but I think people make the comparison to say that it is where we are headed if something doesn’t change. Whether that is valid or not, I don’t know. As for me, I will continue to love people. Gay people. Black people. White people. Drunk people. Abused people. Abusive people. All people. God wasn’t selective about who the neighbor is, and neither should I. What I have been challenged with the last couple of years is this: “Does the homosexual community see, feel, or know the love of Christ?” If the church began doing that, I think this wouldn’t even be a possibility of happening to the homosexual community.

    Liked by 1 person

    • josiahjjr February 15, 2015 / 3:56 pm

      Thank you for your reply Megan!
      I apologize for my slow reply, I thought I’d responded earlier but it didn’t go through apparently…

      I agree, I’m sure some are alluding to the possibility of it reaching that point. But most of the time it seems to me that they are comparing the current situation. I don’t think it’ll reach this point of discrimination again, but learning from our past is a valuable tool for sure.

      I’m thankful for your expression of love! If the Church extended its loving hand to the homosexual community a ton of problems and conflicts would be resolved. Our current situation is the product of both sides reacting with hostility, rather than understanding.

      Thanks again for reading and sharing your thoughts, hope to hear them again in the future 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

