So this is my blog/website/cactus…

It’s 8:31pm in Birmingham, Alabama and I just started a blog… or is it a website?

Both?

We’ll see I guess.

I’m excited to be honest with you, ambiguous reader. I know this seed can grow into a beanstalk that not even Jack or the Giant could surmount. It can be an exchange of ideas so beautiful it could be known throughout the planet, becoming a household name.

But for now, this is just a seed.

 

And this is just a cactus.

IMG_5153

 

I recently received this cactus and the fishbowl as a gift.IMG_5139 I’m excited for my cactus to grow in size and eventually bloom flowers in the late Spring. I don’t know exactly what the flowers will be, they’ll be a cocktail of orange, yellow, or pink, but I can’t know. Until they bloom at least.  I have to be careful not to over-saturate or ignore my succulent to ensure this. My brother and my Dad actually have a bet on how soon it will die. (+1 for family support!) But I’m confident I’ll be showing you this same cactus in May with gorgeous flowers that’d wow even the greenest of thumbs.

Now don’t get me wrong, I love this cactus…but it’s been rough upfront. Repotting this thing with an oven mitt was a little less than ideal. There was a scream or two or three, and even while taking these pictures I pricked myself a few times. It’s difficult starting this plant for sure! But I know it’ll grow easier with time, and eventually I will see the fruits of my labors. It gets easier. I’ve found this fact to be true in most everything in life:

It takes the most energy to get started.

…and I’ve started! So the hard part is done!

Now I’ll be babying my cactus and this site… watering, checking, watching, sitting, waiting, wishing… And looking to see what they will become!

9 thoughts on “So this is my blog/website/cactus…

    • josiahjjr January 14, 2015 / 11:26 pm

      Thank you for the warm welcome Jeyna! I’m excited to be here, I can’t wait to dig in!

      Like

  1. orwell1627 January 14, 2015 / 9:08 pm

    A cactus is cool, but that pot is even cooler 😉

    Like

    • josiahjjr January 14, 2015 / 11:31 pm

      Haha I know right? I actually wanted a fish for my dorm, but my building doesn’t allow pets. I still got a a fishbowl though, which I thought was witty!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Lynda McKinney Lambert January 17, 2015 / 1:25 pm

    Welcome to blogland! Your cactus will grow very TALL, I think. Water sparingly, and be sure it get lots of sunlight. Enjoy your semester at college and keep on writing. Write your way through all your courses, and you will do very well.

    Liked by 1 person

    • josiahjjr January 17, 2015 / 7:17 pm

      Thank you very much, Lynda! I’m excited to be here! I hope so too 🙂 Thank you, I’m doing well so far!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. mwitasblog January 17, 2015 / 6:05 pm

    Beautiful post, Josiah, and obviously you are an extremely gifted and intelligent young man. I am sure both the cactus and the blog will grow i excess of expectations! Lastly, I thank you very much for your very generous comment on my post. I am greatly honored.

    Like

    • josiahjjr January 17, 2015 / 7:00 pm

      Thank you very much,Zakaria! I appreciate it greatly! Of course, don’t mention it 🙂 You have great posts, I’ll be on the look out for more!

      Like

      • mwitasblog January 17, 2015 / 7:05 pm

        Thank you Josiah. I try my best to write from the heart. Yours promises to be a great blog too, I also will be looking forward to it.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

